jump to navigation

Flaws January 16, 2007

Posted by Benji in General.
trackback

When I started this blog, I had a lot more free time than I do now.  (Who would have guessed that the health law and ethics section would be the easiest block all year?)  This recent blog silence doesn’t really mean I’ve failed in my mission to document medical school, however — it simply shows how insanely busy school can get.  Nonetheless, I thought I would take a moment out and share a little more info on myself.  Hopefully you already know some of the basics from reading my journal entries, but here’s a little more insight:

1.  I find it substantially easier to find things that are bad about my personality than good.  This very comment could be taken as evidence of… well… itself.

2.  I have an obsessive personality:  I check my email like it was my pulse; I listen to my new favorite song exclusively on repeat for hours on end; I focus on individual crushes and what they say or wear (until I fall for someone new).

3.  I take things extremely personally:  I put a lot of value on small, sweet gestures; I take inadvertant slights as huge offenses.  I often read too much into a situation, which can make things very uncomfortable for me if I am not corrected.  However, this means I do try to form close friendships quickly and am usually very up-front with what I’m thinking.  Not having this reciporcated can be one of the aforementioned slights.

4.  I used to be able to drink a gallon of (skim) milk in 2-3 days.  Now I seem to have developed a lactose sensitivity, and I’ve been trying to take it easy on the dairy products.

5. I want to be everything I’m not: I’m perpetually jealous of something.  If I read Harry Potter, I want to be a British wizard.  If I listen to a capella, I wish I could sing.  If I watch a good movie, I wish I could play a role in it.  If someone looks at my white skin and thinks I can’t speak their language, I wish my skin were darker so they wouldn’t question that I’m bilingual.

Comments»

1. Doug - January 17, 2007

1. Somehow we’re trained into this. The challenge is re-training ourselves to focus on the positive traits and forgive the negative ones.

5. I get inspired by movies, songs, and books a lot, too. Though if I were bilingual, I would enjoy surprising people with it rather than changing my skin tone (I’m a pale-skinned redhead).

And about the quietness of your blog: I totally figured you were slammed with school.


Leave a Reply

