jump to navigation

No Exit October 20, 2006

Posted by Benji in General.
trackback

Hell is other people.

I saw a phenomenal production of Sartre’s “No Exit” at Hartford Stage this week.  (Quite apropos for my life at the moment.)  It was performed on a stage that could tilt to about 30 degrees in all 4 directions.  This was particularly effective as the venue is theater-in-the-round.  And, frankly, I thought it was brilliantly integrated into the staging of the script.  Sartre was brilliant, and to see how this production adapted it… well, I was very impressed.  I tried to research and see if this tilting-stage idea has ever been used for this particularly show, and I came up with nothing.  Any dramaturgs out there that know better?

Comments»

1. Doug - October 21, 2006

Very cool. I will attempt to read his play.

At first, I believed Sartre was correct. Recently, I have discovered that he is partially correct. Not only is hell other people, but heaven is other people, too.


Leave a Reply

