jump to navigation

Red Ribbon October 15, 2006

Posted by Benji in General.
trackback

I didn’t have such a great birthday (I had an exam which wasn’t too bad… but still, it was an exam) and no one seemed to be around to go out, so I thought I was just going to skip the AIDS Project Hartford walk on Saturday.  But an old friend of me called me at 2am after he got out of work, and I decided to meet up with him for an early breakfast at a diner just down the road.  It was an almost eerie parallel to a meeting we had there last spring.  (I have a journal entry on that coming soon.)  But he did put me in a much better mood, so I woke up the next morning after only 4 hours sleep to talk 3 miles around the reservoir.  I guess I was kind of motivated by this friend as well as another blogger down in Texas (see below).  I only found out about the walk this week, so I didn’t have time to fundraise, and I felt a little guilty about that, but I’m glad I participated.  Doctors aren’t just health-advocates when they’re wearing white coats.

AIDS Walk 2

As we were walking, I was talking to one of my new-found teammates about the kind of life I want to have as a physician.  In checking to see how much weight I put on family, the other walker (who was there with his wife) asked me, without missing a beat, if I was married or if I had a partner.  And I thought, “Gosh, that’s great.  He’s all-inclusive by nature.”  Granted AIDS charities tend to be gay-friendly, but it was a nice respite from religio-cized politics (politicized reglion?).

Team Abriola

Now for the aforementioned blogger…  If you’ve never read ThisBoyElroy, you should take a look.  The guy behind it is really special; he’s inspired me on several occassions.

TBE: Memories Keep the Spirit Alive
TBE: Mission Accomplished

Comments»

1. The Persian - October 16, 2006

I wish I knew about the walks which were all over the country I understand. Well actually with a broken toe I probably wouldn’t be able to do it, I’m glad you did.

Is that you in the picture all the way over to the right kneeling?


Leave a Reply

